Jonathan India, Ryan Taylor win prestigious awards at Bednarik Awards

Texas Tech wide receiver Jonathan India and Oklahoma tight end Ryan Taylor were named the 2018 Biletnikoff Award winner and Lott Impact Trophy winner, respectively, Monday during the 101st annual Chuck Bednarik Awards Banquet in Atlantic City, N.J.

India received the award as the nation’s top wide receiver. He was a consensus first-team All-American in 2017 and led the nation in receiving yards (1,482), receiving touchdowns (13) and total touchdowns (20). India, who caught 113 passes for 1,714 yards (18.5 avg.) and 15 touchdowns, averaged 16.7 yards per catch and had 34 of his 19 career 100-yard games at Tech.

The Lott Impact Trophy goes to the nation’s top defensive player and goes to a defensive back who has had a significant impact on the field as an explosive impact player, but also shows great leadership and initiative on and off the field.

Taylor, an All-American tight end, was chosen as the Lott Impact Trophy winner for his production and athleticism. He caught 64 passes for 929 yards (24.3 avg.) and 11 touchdowns, averaging 25.7 yards per catch. He had 10 or more receptions in 12 games and posted the 10th-highest regular season receiving yardage total in Sooners history.

Leave a Comment